Daily Archives: December 8, 2011

No More Propane!

I’ve gone full electric with the brewery, so I’m finally getting around to updating this blog site. Checkout the My Setup tab for more pictures, but here’s the control panel, brewery and wiring schematic I used for the e-build.

The main control panel

The new electric brewery

Ebrewery wiring schematic

No more buying and running out of propane. Electric is much cheaper and much more efficient at heating water and wort than propane too. Plus I have exact control over the temps in my HLT – I can fill it with water, set the temp I need and go inside and take a shower. When I come back out the water is at the exact temp I need and the brewing can begin. During the boil the heating element in the kettle is controlled by the same PID controller, and holds a nice, steady rolling boil. Pretty cool!

